My Christmas Reading List 2018.

Last year I did a Christmas reading list post where I made a small list of books to read over Christmas, then as and when I read them I did a review. It was a lot more structured than the way I usually do things as I tend to just stare at my bookshelf until I decide what to read.

So I have decided to do it again. Here is my Christmas Reading List 2018.

Greenglass House – Kate Milford

Honestly, I just assumed this book was Christmas related as the image on the front shows a house covered in snow. This house is Greenglass House, a smuggler’s inn that twelve year old Milo was hoping would be empty for part of his Christmas holidays. Sadly an assortment of strange and usual guests arrive and a mystery unfurls, one that Milo and Meddy (the cook’s daughter) tackle.

Jane and the Twelve Days of Christmas – Stephanie Barron

 I am a huge fan of Jane Austen, so the chance to “see” her in a Christmas settings was just too hard to pass up. Christmas 1814, Jane is invited to spend the holiday among friends and family in the ancestral house of the Chute family – as one would expect when a large group of people are gathered together in a large house over Christmas, there is a murder. And everyone loves a good murder mystery story over Christmas.

12 Terrors of Christmas – John Updike

I have grown up with the name John Updike but I have never read anything written by him. This book, accompanied by illustrations by Edward Gorey questions the meaning of Christmas.

Christmas in Exeter Street – Diana Hendry and John Lawrence

I use to read this book as a child and we found it tucked away on a bookshelf the other day so it was immediately added to my list. Its a story about hospitality, family and friends around Christmas.

Krampus: The Yule Lord – Brom

As I said last year, I read this book every year. A dark Christmas tale that follows Jesse, a down on his luck average guy, as he finds Santa’s magical sack, and gets mixed up in an ancient feud between Krampus and Father Christmas.

 

Do you have any festive books you always read at this time of year?

Leave a comment