Scrappy Little Nobody – Anna Kendrick

In the movies, someone comes into a persons a life at the exact moment they need them to. That someone helps them feel acceptance in the way their things currently are, while giving them the motivation they need to help get what they want out of life.

Anna Kendrick has just done that for me with this book.

Scrappy Little Nobody is a selection of hilarious stories written by Anna Kendrick about her life. Funnier than I expected, each story is told with a staggering amount of honesty which leads to an incredibly entertaining and compelling read. The personal nature of the book is
enforced even more by the way it’s written, it’s like you are having a conversation with her. She interrupts her reminiscing to give you a side comment, a relevant tidbit or to ask
you a question.

I felt an instant kinship with Anna Kendrick, her humor is my humor. Her fears about life and being a barely functioning adult, are my fears about life and being a barely functioning adult. The book left me feeling inspired to work harder in life, but to also have fun along the way, and to understand that hardships along the way are inevitable.

There are of course no spoilers in this review, as it’s not really the kind of book one can spoil. But if you are ever in need of a fun read, and a good laugh – this book will offer both. I’m going to buy a copy for each of my friends I think, it’s just that good!

Favourite quotes from the book:

…so I’ve been a bitter bitch since before my first period.

I wish I could say this masquerading-as-an-adult-and-getting-away-with-it feeling was exclusive to being seventeen, but so many things in my life are still like that.

…people being tough with you doesn’t mean they’re villains.

I think self-doubt is healthy. And having to fight for the thing you want doesn’t mean you deserve it any less.

My interest in getting into these clubs didn’t last long. (It would vanish completely after my twenty-first birthday because, like guys who play hard to get, or Tickle Me Elmo, or your first period, sometimes you only want something until you have it.)

Kendrick, Quote.jpg

(no quote has ever described me so much, hence why it deserved a photo.)

As Sondheim said, Nice is different than good. Do you need to do whatever you’re told to be a nice person? Maybe. Do you need to do whatever you’re told to be a good person? Of course not!

I gave up on being Nice. I started putting more value on other qualities instead: passion, bravery, intelligence, practicality, humor, patience, fairness and sensitivity.

…but everyone in the world feels like their inbox is growing faster than they can keep up, right? If there was just a little more time, or a little more money, or if you could just get through this rough
patch, it would all be clear, it would all fall into place. It’s an insatiable trap.

Leave a Reply

